NuSym23, XIth International Symposium on Nuclear Symmetry Energy

Main Lecture Hall (GSI Darmstadt, Germany)

Main Lecture Hall

GSI Darmstadt, Germany

Südbau (SB1), GSI Campus
Arnaud Le Fevre (GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung GmbH(GSI)) , Yvonne Leifels (GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung GmbH(GSI))

NuSYm23 Conference photo

The event is organized and supported by the GSI Helmholtz Centre for Heavy-Ion Research GmbH of Darmstadt, Germany. 

The last (in-person) meeting has taken place in 2022 in Catania (Italy). 

The scientific sessions will be held in the Main Lecture Hall of the GSI Campus (SB Building).

The symposium will address experimental and theoretical investigations of the equation-of-state of asymmetric nuclear matter. Such investigations include efforts in nuclear structure, nuclear reactions and heavy-ion collisions, as well as in astrophysical observations of compact stars and associated phenomena (neutron stars and core collapse supernovae, among others). Significant implications of gravitational wave signals, soft X-rays, astro-particle physics and neutrino observations will be discussed.

Students and postdocs are especially encouraged to participate and contribute to the scientific sessions of the symposium.

Registration is already open and will close on August 31, 2023.

The last day of the meeting, September 22, will be devoted to a satellite workshop on transport models, organized by the TMEP (Transport Model Evaluation Project) collaboration, in the tradition of previously organized NuSym editions. 

Further details about this satellite meeting will be available on a dedicated section of this web site.

Topics of the NuSym conference:

  • Nuclear equation-of-state (EoS) and symmetry energy in laboratory experiments, in astrophysical observations, and microscopic theories.
  • Nuclear structure and direct reactions.
  • Heavy-ion collision experiments.
  • Transport model simulations of heavy-ion reactions.
  • Microscopic calculations of neutron-rich, dense nuclear matter.
  • Isospin dependence of nuclear effective interactions.
  • Clustering in isospin-asymmetric nuclear systems.
  • Astrophysical, multi-messenger observations.
  • Theory of compact stars and neutron star mergers.
  • Supernova theory for neutrino emission and nucleosynthesis.
  • Investigations at existing and future accelerator facilities.
  • Detector developments.

The scientific sessions will consist of invited talks and contributed presentations among the submitted abstracts. 

Important dates
Abstract submission deadline                         July 31st, 2023
Registration deadline                                     August 31st, 2023
Notification of abstract acceptance                August 4th, 2023
NuSym23 scientific sessions                          September 18-21st, 2023
Long-range plans round table                        September 22nd, 2023
Transport models satellite workshop              September 22nd, 2023


  • Abdelouahad Chbihi
  • Adriana R. Raduta
  • Agnieszka Sorensen
  • Akira Ono
  • Alberica Toia
  • Alberto Camaiani
  • Alexander Botvina
  • Andrea Jedele
  • Andreas Bauswein
  • Anindita Karmakar
  • Anna Senger
  • Armen Sedrakian
  • Arnaud Le Fevre
  • Ban Zhang
  • Behruz Kardan
  • Betty Tsang
  • Bijay Kumar Agrawal
  • Bikram Keshari Pradhan
  • Byungsik Hong
  • Carolyn Raithel
  • Caterina Ciampi
  • Christian Sturm
  • Christoph Adam
  • Dairon Rodríguez Garcés
  • Dan Cozma
  • Dario Ramirez
  • David Alvarez Castillo
  • David Tsang
  • Debades Bandyopadhyay
  • Deepak Kumar
  • Duncan Neill
  • Elena Bratkovskaya
  • Emanuele Vincenzo Pagano
  • Francesca Sammarruca
  • Fuqiang Wang
  • Giovanni Casini
  • Giuseppe Verde
  • Guilherme Grams
  • Hannah Elfner
  • Hans Rudolf Schmidt
  • Harish Chandra Das
  • Hauke Köhn
  • Henrik Rose
  • Hermann Wolter
  • Hui-Gan Cheng
  • Isabelle Brandherm
  • Ivana Lihtar
  • Jerzy Łukasik
  • Jocelyn Read
  • Jun Xu
  • Justin Mohs
  • Juzo Zenihiro
  • Jérôme Margueron
  • Kai Hebeler
  • Kshitij Agarwal
  • Lady Maryann Collazo Sánchez
  • Lami Suleiman
  • Luciano Rezzolla
  • Lukas Ponnath
  • Manuel Lorenz
  • Maria Colonna
  • Mehulkumar Shiroya
  • Micaela Oertel
  • Mikhail Beznogov
  • Mizuki Kurata-Nishimura
  • Mladen Kis
  • Mohamad Chamseddine
  • Nai-Bo Zhang
  • Natsumi Ikeno
  • Nico Orce
  • Niklas Schild
  • Nikolai Shchechilin
  • Nils Paar
  • Ninoy Rahman
  • Oleksii Lubynets
  • Olivier Lopez
  • Paolo Napolitani
  • Paolo Russotto
  • Peter Senger
  • Peter T. H. Pang
  • Quentin FABLE
  • Rahul Somasundaram
  • Rodrigo da Mata Melo da Silva
  • Romain Holzmann
  • Rui Wang
  • Ruprecht Machleidt
  • Sebastian Kubis
  • Sebastien Guillot
  • Sherry Yennello
  • Shun Furusawa
  • Sibo Wang
  • Sk Md Adil Imam
  • Stefan Typel
  • Tim Dietrich
  • Tom Génard
  • Ulrich Mosel
  • William Lynch
  • William Newton
  • Wolfgang Trautmann
  • Xavier Roca Maza
  • Yijie Wang
  • Ying Cui
  • Yingxun Zhang
  • Yvonne Leifels
  • Zbigniew Chajecki
  • Zhao-Qing Feng
  • Zhigang Xiao